Curried Carrot Soup

When Mr. P, Little Girl, and I moved back to the South, we knew we were in for those hot, humid summers, but never did we imagine what winter would have in store. If you look outside the windows of our quaint, 40s (single pane windowed) townhouse you will see nothing but glorious sunshine beckoning you to take a walk, maybe even open a window. Herd of sirens. It is lunch time and what temperature is it? 17 degrees. Fahrenheit. Yesterday my car doors were frozen shut. After finally getting one unfrozen, I had to crawl through the car and bash each door open. This is 2014 apocalypse type stuff. And then, I saw gusts of snow. While it was sunny. Y’all. Did I mention that we moved from California? I know, everyone in Boston is laughing at me and our Canadian neighbors are boycotting my blog due to my renowned weakness as a human.

chop

After scurrying to and from my car while attempting a few errands with Little Girl looking like a miniature Eskimo, I knew there was only one option for tonight’s dinner. The crockpot. May its sweet aromas fill your home and its steady heat warm your spirit. Don’t worry; I’m not going to post a picture of myself hugging our slow cooker. I’m done, promise.

I paid a little visit to Gluten Free Goddess and found her divine recipe for curried carrot soup. I tweeked it a little bit.

Ingredients:

Olive oil
3 cloves garlic, chopped (or 10, whatever, I could bathe in garlic)
4 teaspoons curry powder (cumin and coriander make a good substitute)
1 leek (or onion)
4 large carrots
1 sweet potato (just 1, I’ve overdone the sweet potato before)
1 butternut squash
Fresh water as needed
Salt to taste

Instructions:

Plug in your crockpot and turn to high heat. Drizzle some olive oil and add garlic and spices. Stir and cover. Let that flavor your oil with goodness while you chop some some vegetables.

Wash your vegetables. Trim and slice the white section of the leek. Peel and chop the carrots, sweet potato, and squash (butternut squash can be a tricky little thing to chop; I recommend a table saw… kidding, a sharp, sturdy butcher knife).

Toss your veggies into  the warm crockpot and stir. Add enough water to just cover them. Season with salt and maybe more garlic (kidding). Cover and let cook until the carrots are tender.

curried carrot

Before serving, puree the soup with an immersion blender until the consistency is smooth. If it’s too thick for your liking, add broth, milk, or water to thin it out and heat for another 10 minutes.

Serves 4.

Gluten Free Goddess serves this with pan toasted cornbread croutons, but I (being very gluten tolerant) prefer a loaf of homemade wheat bread.

I have tried this recipe both mashed and pureed and I highly recommend blending the ingredients–smoother mouth feel and the tastes come together in a robust flavor when blended. The photo below is of a mashed version.

finished soup

3 thoughts on “Curried Carrot Soup

  1. I definitely need to try this recipe- I have all the ingredients on hand. I am in the South as well- and have lived here my whole life- I promise this kind of cold is a rare occasion! This weekend should be a lot more welcoming 🙂

Leave a Reply

