Spring Cleaning Part 2: A Simple Jewelry Upgrade

After a successful day of consigning my clothes, I carried home a bag of jewelry that had less luck. My jewelry often comes from places like Claires and Forever 21 (ie trendy and low quality), so it is not ideal for consigning. I stared at the unwanted earrings and rings. I didn’t want to donate them (Is that pride? An emotional connection?), but what to do? Upon searching Pinterest for “repurposed jewelry” I found jewelry made out of repurposed items, but not the other way around.

While glancing at some tarnished earrings, it hit me. Nail polish. What if I spruced it up with some gold nail polish?

Crooked Housewife: Upgrade jewelry by painting it with nail polish!

Not bad. Then I glanced at all the other items I wanted to keep but, in their current state, didn’t care to wear. The possibilities were endless!

Crooked Housewife: Upgrade jewelry by painting it with nail polish!

These rings were a silver-color. After a little gold and charcoal, they were more exciting. Nail polish colors: Orly LAB4402 and Revlon Steel-her Heart.

Crooked Housewife: Upgrade jewelry by painting it with nail polish!

These earrings had transparent beads–cute but not my style. Now I’m loving them! Nail polish color: Nicole 11048AE6.

Crooked Housewife: Upgrade jewelry by painting it with nail polish!

Another inexpensive, tarnished piece that has beenĀ brightened with gold nail polish. This is the same Orly color on the first two pieces.

Crooked Housewife: Upgrade jewelry by painting it with nail polish!

These ancient studs were cloudy cubic zirconia and easy easy to paint. Nail polish colors here: Nicole 11048AE6, Petites Passion Orange, Revlon Steel-her Heart, Nicole Kissed at Midnight, and Essie Absolutely Shore.

Crooked Housewife: Upgrade jewelry by painting it with nail polish!

These shell earrings were beautiful, but again not quite my style. After taping the top half, I painted them with the gold Orly nail polish I so love, creating a color-blocked, modern upgrade.

Crooked Housewife: Upgrade jewelry by painting it with nail polish!

Crooked Housewife: Upgrade jewelry by painting it with nail polish!

I’m loving it! How have you repurposed or upgraded your old jewelry?

3 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning Part 2: A Simple Jewelry Upgrade

  1. Pingback: Spring Cleaning Part 3: Turn Your Magazines into Something Worthwhile | Crooked Housewife

  2. I painted one of my old watches and earrings with nail paint! Both turned out quite cute… šŸ˜› I love what you have done here with your old jewelry… šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

