Make a Greenery Bouquet

Make a greenery bouquet for free!

The transition from fall to winter is a difficult one for me. Most of the time any remorse is overshadowed with anticipation for Thanksgiving and Christmas, but every now and then (like now, when Birmingham is in the 20s and it’s only November–yes, in the South those temps are not supposed to happen until after Christmas, if at all) it gets me. I look around my yard and see zero blossoms, a “fall” garden that’s not doing well at all, and marigolds that look like they’ve been beaten with a frying pan. There is something about this time of year that makes us turn inward, isn’t there? Inside the house for warmth, sure, but also inside ourselves for what feels like a quieter, calmer season.

Make your own greenery bouquets with what you have around the yard.

That being said, as I’ve perused magazines and Pinterest for holiday decoration ideas, I have found myself constantly drawn to the garland, wreaths, and bouquets (ie the green decorations). This is what has surprised me: I frequently have access to the plants used to decorate some of the finest blogs and magazine spreads! I suddenly spend so little time outside come cold weather that I never thought of it before. So the other ridiculously frigid day I grabbed some clippers and took a little trip around the yard to see what I could come up with.

Lambs ear

I gathered some red berries (ok, I don’t know what they’re called, but they adorn a big shrub in my backyard…), lambs ear, magnolia leaves, lavender, and a little blue speedwell.

Bouquet 1:

Greenery bouquet made from yard clippings: magnolia leaves, lambs ear, and blue speedwell

This sits on our mantel with some magnolia leaves in the back for structure and lambs ear as a backdrop to the blue speedwell in front. I like how the overall shape resembles an opened fan. I also thought the subtlety of the vase made for interesting presentation.

Magnolia leaves, lambs ear, and blue speedwell

Bouquet 2:

Greenery bouquet with yard clippings: lambs ear and lavender

This is sitting by our front door. It is essentially a bouquet of soft lambs ear with a center of lavender. I love how soft and feminine this looks, not to mention the sweet smell.

Lambs ear and lavender

Bouquet 3:

Greenery bouquet with yard clippings: magnolia leaves, lambs ear, and red berries

Sitting on top of our armoire, this has a fan of magnolia leaves in the back and a small “plate” of lambs ear holding the berries. I haven’t decided what festive message to write on the chalk label yet, mostly because my attention is always above the label.

Magnolia leaves, lambs ear, and red berries

Bouquet 4:

Greenery bouquet with yard clippings: magnolia leaves, lambs ear, and red berries

And my favorite bouquet sits on our dining table. Essentially it is a repeat of bouquet 3, but just a better production. It consists again of a fan of magnolia leaves with lambs ear making a soft landing for the berries. Fun fact: this vase was one of the millions (yes, millions) used to decorate our wedding.

Magnolia leaves, lambs ear, and red berries

So give it a go! Trek around the yard and see what you come up with. And then show me because I want to see!

Psst. I just started tracking some of our daily goings on around here on Instagram @crookedhousewife. If you wanna be a part of the party, follow me 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

