What We’ve Been Up To

It has been a while, my friends, and no I haven’t forgotten about you. The fact of the matter is, Mr. P has had a break from med school and we’ve had our heads down in house projects. We have so much to show you, from a bathroom reveal (EEK!) to some exciting, smaller improvements. We’re taking some time off to enjoy the holidays and then I’ll come back with a host of photos and stories and tutorials for you. So get excited!

In the mean time, enjoy this little gem of a story:

A few weeks ago, I woke up in the middle of the night to the unfortunately distinct sound of a rat chewing. If you have never heard this terrible sound, fear not, you will know exactly what it is when you do hear it. Wrapped in my burrito of blankets, I began to identify the source of the sound: my closet. Gross gross gross gross gross. Naturally, I did what any sensible woman would do. I retreated further into my bed cocoon to the tune of this is not happening and fell back asleep.

Two days later, I hauled out all my wrapping supplies and began tackling the gift wrapping process. All the unwrapped gifts were stored in my closet. A little stocking stuffer for one of my brothers-in-law included a thick coffee syrup in a plastic squeeze bottle. As I reached for this specific item, I found my hand wet. Dangit, the cap wasn’t screwed on tightly, I thought. As I held it upright to prevent any more leaking, I was shocked to find syrup gushing out of the side of the bottle onto other gifts, my clothes, and the carpet. There, in fact, was a hole (larger than a quarter in size) EATEN through the side of the bottle. I’m not kidding you.

After trashing the half-eaten stocking stuffer, doing a load of laundry, cleaning all of the other gifts, and cleaning the carpet, I had the pleasure of locating and cleaning rat droppings. Then I noticed my hangers. It began with my noticing a small hole in the shoulder of a brand new maternity dress. This thing hadn’t even been washed, so how the heck could it have a hole in it!? I chalked it up to buying such a thin material, but then I found a trail of holes along the exposed shoulder of several garments. That’s when I realized that this offending rat crawled along my hangers and nibbled holes in shirts as it went. This is when I did the heeby jeeby dance (resembles a vertical seizure) for a solid 60 seconds.

Thus began the rat killings. Several friends in the neighborhood advised me to not waste my time with traps (not to mention, if you do catch them, you then have to figure out what to do with the angry little things) and go straight to the big guns (poison). 16 blocks of poison later (all in places that children and pets cannot access, like the attic, under the house, under the refrigerator, etc), I felt like I had regained control of our house.

So the saga ends there… for now. We have had no signs of these little buggers since, but I’m not convinced the war is over. I will keep you updated.

In the mean time, Merry Christmas!  Merry rat murder! Happy holidays!

One thought on “What We’ve Been Up To

Leave a Reply

